S.S.E.S.A's Science College, Congress Nagar, Nagpur

DEPARTMENT OF MICROBIOLOGY

ACTIVITIES REPORT 2019-20

.....

NATIONAL ESSAY COMPETITION 18th JANUARY 2020

National Essay competition for U.G. and P.G. Microbiology Students was organized by Department of Microbiology, Science College Congress Nagar, Nagpur in collaboration with Microbiologist Society, India on 18th January 2020. Prize distribution was carried out on 22nd January 2020. Dignitaries on the dais were Honourable Chief Guest- Mr. A.S. Patankar, Assistant Manager, SINE- IIT Bombay, Guest of Honour- Dr. S.D. Patankar former Principal, S.S. Jaiswal College, Arjuni Morgaon, Programme President- Dr. M.P. Dhore, Principal Science College, Congress Nagar, Nagpur and Head, Department of Microbiology- Mrs. M.J. Madhugiri. The topics for the competition were categorized into two categories as follows.

Category I: Under-Graduate Students

- 1. Bioterrorism
- 2. Biosensors
- 3. Microbial fuel cell
- 4. Gut microbes and their significance

Category II: Post-Graduate Students

- 1. Metagenomics and its industrial applications
- 2. Extreme environments and extremophiles
- 3. Re-emergence of viral infectious diseases and their control
- 4. CRISPR technology

A total of 8 students participated in it. All the participants were given the certificate of participation. Prize distribution was carried out on 22nd January 2020. Winners were given a trophy and a certificate at the hands of Honourable Chief Guest- Mr. A.S. Patankar, Assistant Manager, SINE- IIT Bombay, Guest of Honour- Dr. S.D. Patankar former Principal, S.S. Jaiswal College, Arjuni Morgaon and Head, Department of Microbiology- Mrs. M.J. Madhugiri. Names of the winner students are given as follows.

From U.G. students:

1. First Prize: Mr. Vishal Kharchwal

2. Second Prize: Ms. Shraddha Bire

From P.G. students:

1. First Prize: Ms. Zarina Ansari

2. Second Prize: Ms. Rakhi Khandelwal

3. Consolation Prize: Ms. Saloni Komawar

The programme was anchored by Dr. Pranita Gulhane, Mrs. Shital Khedkar and Mrs. Madhuri Walvekar while 'Vote of Thanks' was given by Ms. Anjali Sharma.