

Dr. Tessy Thomas

Dr. Tessy Thomas, Distinguished Scientist, Director General Aeronautical Systems obtained her BTech in Electrical Engineering from Calicut University in 1985 and ME in Guided Missiles from Institute of Armament Technology (now Defence Institute of Advanced Technology), Pune in 1986 and PhD in Missile Guidance from Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU), Hyderabad in 2014. She obtained MBA in Operations Management from Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), New Delhi, in 2007.

Tessy Thomas Joined IAT, Pune as a faculty member in Guided Missiles in the year 1986. She joined Inertial Navigation group as Scientist 'B' in 1988 at Hyderabad. She has been associated with Agni Programme right from its developmental flights. She has designed the guidance scheme for long range missile systems which is used in all Agni missiles. An energy management guidance scheme was designed and developed for the first time in the country for an all – solid propelled long range systems for which she was conferred with Agni Self Reliance Award in the year 2001.

In her work spanning more than 32 years, she has contributed in various fields such as Guidance, Control, Inertial Navigation, Trajectory Simulation and Mission Design. She was leading a major project AGNI-4 as Project Director, for a state-of-art system with many new technologies for the first time and successfully flight tested and proven and was also Project Director (Mission) for the long range AGNI-5 system and successfully flight tested and proven. As Director, Advanced Systems Laboratory, DRDO, she held multi-dimensional roles and responsibilities and lead the development of strategic system. Presently, she is leading the Aeronautical Systems Cluster Laboratories as Director General.

Dr. Tessy Thomas is the recipient of many prestigious awards including DRDO Agni Award for Excellence in Self-Reliance in 2001; DRDO Award for Path breaking Research/Outstanding Technology Development-2007; DRDO Scientist of the Year Award in 2008; DRDO Performance Excellence Award for Agni 4 in 2011; DRDO Performance Excellence Award for Agni 5 in 2012; Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence in Public Administration Academics and Management in 2012; Suman Sharma Award by The Institution of Engineers (India), National Design and Research Forum for Engineering Design in 2009; Smt. Chandaben Mohanbhai Patel Industrial Research Award for Women Scientists in 2009 by VASVIK; Maharana Udai Singh Award by Maharana Mewar Foundation Annual Awards for Contribution in the field of S&T in 2013; Madam

Marie Curie Mahila Vijnana Puraskar in 2012; India Today Woman of the Year Award in 2009; CNN-IBN Indian of the Year Award in 2012; Shree Ratna Award by Kerala Kalakendram on International Women's Day 2014, Outstanding Woman Award by National Commission for Women on International Women's Day 2013; Vanita Ratnam Puraskaram – 2014 by Government of Kerala, Department of Social Justice, Dr. Y. Nayudamma Memorial Award for the Year 2014 for Outstanding Contributions in the field Missile Technology, "Bharat Ratna Sir Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya Award-2016" towards outstanding contributions in the field of Engineering towards design, development and realization of indigenous missile systems by The Institution of Engineers (India), Telangana State Centre, Hyderabad, "Distinguished Woman Scientist Award" in 2016 for her contributions in the field of Missile Technology by Andhra Pradesh Science Congress, Andhra Pradesh Academy of Sciences. "Outstanding Woman Achiever" award in the field of Science and Technology by Women in Science and Engineering (WISE), India.

She is a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE), Fellow of Telangana Academy of Sciences (FTAS), Fellow of Institution of Engineers India (FIE), Senior Member, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE), Life Member of Astronautical Society of India (ASI), Life Member of Aeronautical Society of India (AeSI), Life Member of Indian National Society for Aerospace & Related Mechanisms (INSARM), Life Member of Indian Society for Advancement of Materials and Process Engineering (ISAMPE), and Life Member of Society for Aerospace Quality and Reliability (SAQR).

<u>Honoris Causa</u>:

- Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) in Space Science from Kalyani University, West Bengal in 2012.
- 2) Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Mangalayatan University, Aligarh in 2012.
- 3) Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Hindustan University, Chennai in 2014
- 4) Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Sri Padmavati Mahila Vishwavidyalaya University, Tirupathi in 2015.
- 5) Doctor of Literature (Honoris Causa) from ITM University, Gwalior in 2016.
- 6) Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Agra in 2017.
- 7) Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Central University of Karnataka, Kalaburagi in 2018
